Moved

 
Yesterday morning, at half past four, I lay down to sleep in my room at Kyoto University International House.  Eighteen hours later, I was awakened by a strong autumn breeze that somehow got through the glass window I had absently left open and found its way to the door leading towards the kitchen.  Without getting up, I looked outside, expecting to see tops of pine trees bathed in yellow light.  Instead, I saw nothing but stars, hundreds of them dancing in the clear, cloudless sky.  Right then, I realized I wasn’t in the dormitory anymore. 
 
I had moved.
 
Unopened luggage and paperbags bursting at the seams littered the tatami-lined floor, along with pieces of shirts, pants, towels, jackets, and socks all piled together in a heap.  I was on the sixth floor of a six-floor building surrounded by tons of ramen shops.  Izumiya and Qanat, two enormous shopping malls, were a stone’s throw away; Kyoto University, ten minutes by bike.
 
The apartment is a bit shabby for my taste, but with some fresh curtains, a new set of futon, and a few pieces of wooden furniture, I’m sure everything’s gonna be perfect.  Why, with the grassy smell of the newly-installed tatami mats and the rustic feel of the paper-lined sliding doors, what’s there not to love?

2 thoughts on “Moved

  1. seems like a classic japanese abode. i wish i can have tatami-lined floors in my house 🙂 have fun in making over your apartment!

  2. Ah moving…a lot of fun, a lot of work. Have fun in your new place.
     
    ALSO: I tagged you to do this survey/questionaire thing I did at my site. Copy the questions from my site and answer them here…enjoy!

Leave a comment